cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EF 100-400mm F4.5-5.6L IS II USM + Extender EF 2x III + Rebel EOS T7I

sridzyowski
Contributor

Hi Everyone,

Im new to photography. My Wife loves to take pictures of flowers and insects however I mainly like to take pictures of Birds from a distance and other things further away like the moon with my powershot sx60 

SO MY QUESTION IS. 

I just purchased the new Rebel EOS T7I .. Love it. but looking to ger the   EF 100-400mm F4.5-5.6L IS II USM .. but i was also looking into purchasing an extender with it and figured why not get the   Extender EF 2x III . Would all this be possible and work with my T7I .. or would i just need to get the 1.4x ? 

All answers are helpful as well as any suggestions. 

Thanks Ahead of time

26 REPLIES 26

Third party lenses cheat and tell the camera they are *really* 5.6 or so to get around these limitations.

3rd pary as in my 150-600 sigma lense. can u explain more in detail. 

Let me clear up some points I think you have glossed over.

Most any of these combinations 2x, 1.4x, a100-400mil or even the 150-600mil, whatever, will work.  Or perhaps, they can be made to work phrases it better. I have even stacked converters and got it to 'work'.  But that word work is pretty arbitrary. Everything in any lens suffers when an extender is used.  How much is, OK, is up to you.  

The problems will multiply because of the crop factor of your T7i, also.  At 400mm (640mm for you) most people can get decent photos with out too much effort.  600mm (960mm for you)*1.4

has a bit more challenges.  However, you are talking in the area of a 1200mm and more.  At that focal length even the waves in the atmosphere become a problem.  AF will be slow if not impossible (there are tricks to get it to AF).  The VF will become darker.  ISO will have to be set very high if not maxed out.  A good tripod will be mandatory.