cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Confused about infinity focus on a new lens

ravan1011
Apprentice

Sorry if I'm being stupid, but I got a new lens, a tamron 70-300mm, f/4-5.6. I'm wondering if the infinity symbol means it has infinity focus or do I have to do something to get it to focus? I'm new to photography and this is probably me being stupid.

*Infinity focus for astrophotography.

4 REPLIES 4

Ray-uk
Whiz

If you study the focus scale on a lens you will see that it is not linear, at close distances the lens requires a large amount of adjustment to attain focus, at further distances this adjustment reduces. Once you get past the tens or hundreds of feet (depending on the lens in use) the lens will need no adjustment and will be in focus whether you are focused on something 200 feet away or even the moon so they label this position infinity.

That is the easy answer, unless you want to get involved in the physics and mathematics of lens design then it will be enough for most people.

MikeSowsun
Authority
Authority

@ravan1011 wrote:

Sorry if I'm being stupid, but I got a new lens, a tamron 70-300mm, f/4-5.6. I'm wondering if the infinity symbol means it has infinity focus or do I have to do something to get it to focus? I'm new to photography and this is probably me being stupid.

Are you having trouble getting the lens to focus at far away subjects?

I am not familiar with that particular lens, but for a few different reasons, modern AF lenses do not have a hard stop exactly at the infinity position. Most will go slightly past infinity which can result in out of focus photos. You must use AF, or carefully manually focus before the hard stop, to get in focus photos. 

I am not sure which version of the Tamron 70-300 you have.

This is a quote from the manual for the Tamron  AF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di LD