cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Compatible lens question

JesseC
Contributor

Greetings,

I am a beginner photographer and I currently own the 'Canon EOS Rebel T1I'. When I purchased that it came with the 'EF-S 18-55 IS Kit' lens. I am looking to upgrade to the 'Canon EOS 6D' soon and I was curious if the lens I own would attach to the new camera. I also own a 'EFS 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS' lens. 

If anyone has any resources that could tell me about compatibility I would be appreciative. I am still foggy on what lenses work with what cameras.

Well-wishes,
Jesse C

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

cicopo
Elite

Lenses with the EF-S designation are for crop bodies & Canon intentionally designed them so they won't mount to a full frame body which requires EF mount lenses. EF lenses however do fit crop bodies as well as the full frame bodies. Lenses from Tamron & Sigma generally mount to full frame bodies even if originally designed for crop bodies BUT they don't supply light to the full area of the senson in most cases.

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9

cicopo
Elite

Lenses with the EF-S designation are for crop bodies & Canon intentionally designed them so they won't mount to a full frame body which requires EF mount lenses. EF lenses however do fit crop bodies as well as the full frame bodies. Lenses from Tamron & Sigma generally mount to full frame bodies even if originally designed for crop bodies BUT they don't supply light to the full area of the senson in most cases.

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

Cicopo and Skiball , 

Thank you both for your replies to my message. It is informative about what I currently have and could have great impact on my future purchases.