cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon SL1 Lens

el_em_en_oh
Contributor

Hi guys...|

I'm a beginner, and recently purchased an SL1. Very small body, but I like it, as both my wife and I can use it (she has extremely small hands).

I purchased a TAMRON 18-200mm, as an all-in-one vacation lens, and was very happy with the results (ultra wide-angle, as well as decent zoom capabilities). I also have the CANON kit lenses that came with the bundle (18-55mm & 75-300mm), as well as a CANON 50mm lens I found in a garage sale that just happened to fit.

What other Canon models will these lenses fit on?

I was to get another camera body, for myself, but would like the lenses to be interchangeable between my wife's SL1 and whatever I happen to get. I know it's got somewthing to do with EF and EF-S, but that's about all I know.

Can someone help?

LMNO

20 REPLIES 20

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

Any of the Canon DSLR's with APS-C sensors will work with your lenses. For example, all of the rebels. You don't say, but you probably have a mixture of EF and EF-S lenses. EF lenses will work with all Canon DSLR's and the EF-S will only work with the APS-C bodies like the Rebels.

The lens itself will have an EF or EF-S marking to tell you.

So a 6D or a 7D body will work with the lenses I already have?

Excuse my ignorance. When I say we're biginners, I really mean it. JUST got the camera, and are having a lot of fun learning, making mistakes, over-exposing, under-exposing, taking the odd KILLER photgraph, making massive bumbles and deleting them all, etc, etc.

We've not had this much fun learning about something in a very long time, and are steadily reading up and learning about our new favorite hobby.

A 7D is an APS-C camera that uses EF-S lenses, so all your current lenses would work.

Sounds like you are doing the exact right method to learn your new hobby.

I appreciate the information.