cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon Lens 75-300mm AutoFocus Issues

mdbailey07
Apprentice

Hello Guys. I'm hoping somone can give me some insight on the current issue I am having. 🙂 I recently purchased a Canon Rebel T5 EOS 1200D  that came with 2 lenses. I am having issues with my 75-300mm lens. It sometimes tells me that there is a faulty connection between the camera and lens and to clean the  contacts. I have done that numerous times. Now I have a new problem. This lens will not work in Auto Focus. When i try to take a picture in autofocus, it says the camera is busy in the lower left size of the screen and the auto focus just spins and it will never take a picture. Im new to this camera so I was wondering if it was a setting that needed to be changed or what may be the issue. I've tried every option on the camera, and it still won't work. I have no problem with the EFS 18-55mm lens taking pictures in autofocus, or with connection. I have done troubleshooting online and came to a dead end. Thank you in advance for any advice. 🙂

10 REPLIES 10

ScottyP
Authority

Hi,

if if you go outside in really bright sunlight does the problem go away?

Failure to autofocus can be several things, including:

1.) light is too dim for the camera's (not the lens's ) autofocus sensor, or

2.) you are too close to the subject for the lens's minimum focus distance (59.1 inches for that lens!), or

3.) you are trying to focus on somethingfeatureless like a solid color wall, that lacks contrasting patterns or edges for the camera to grab onto.

Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites

Why do so many people say "FER-tographer"? Do they take "fertographs"?