cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon EOS 250D lens help

carriemathinson
Apprentice

I've decided I'm going to purchase the Canon EOS 250d and it comes with the EF-S 18-55mm f/4-5.6 IS STM lens. This seems fine for me as I'm a beginner. However, I was thinking of also purchasing the 50mm f/1.8 STM lens. I know it's a cheap option but I don't have a giant budget. Do you think there's much point in buying this extra lens? Or should I wait and just save up for a different more expensive lens? I'm mostly going to be using the camera for landscape photography and everyday kind of videos (vlog style). I'm moving abroad so will be in a tourist mindset probably taking photos of everything so would like some versatility.

3 REPLIES 3

@carriemathinson wrote:

I've decided I'm going to purchase the Canon EOS 250d and it comes with the EF-S 18-55mm f/4-5.6 IS STM lens. This seems fine for me as I'm a beginner. However, I was thinking of also purchasing the 50mm f/1.8 STM lens. I know it's a cheap option but I don't have a giant budget. Do you think there's much point in buying this extra lens? Or should I wait and just save up for a different more expensive lens? I'm mostly going to be using the camera for landscape photography and everyday kind of videos (vlog style). I'm moving abroad so will be in a tourist mindset probably taking photos of everything so would like some versatility.

The only versatility the 50mm provides is its wider aperture. That doesn't buy you much in landscape photography, and your zoom lens already covers the 50mm focal length. But if your tourist mindset has you taking a lot of pictures indoors, the f/1.8 aperture could be a help.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

"Do you think there's much point in buying this extra lens?"