cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon EF 70mm-200mm is ll USM Lens

Mallard
Contributor

Using T2i body, hand hold @ night lit sports Soccer. I had allot of blurring (Goalie standing still) last season in the later part of the matches.  I was using a EFS-55-250 1:4-5.6 is ll.  Used Sports mode AV, and M. Blurring remained a problem at still shots or actions shots.  I figure I need the f/2.8 to gather enough light to accomplish the results wanted.    I would like some info on lens above, both pros and cons although it proably doesn't have any cons.  I am not a pro or anywhere close.  Started shooting when I got my first Canon AE-1.  I will be mostly using @ 200mm with f/2.8 in the applications above.  Will this lens get the job done?   I have read that @ 200mm the outer edges of the images are white or a lot lighter than the inner poritions.  Is there any truth to this?  If so, can it be handled in a photo program if I shoot in RAW?   Any guidence would be greatly appreciated!

35 REPLIES 35

@ebiggs1 wrote:

"That's supposed to be one of my winter projects, creating a profile for it."

Go fo it !  But you better hurry as winter is almost gone.

Yeah, right.  It is supposed to be a teachable moment, but so far I need round tuit.  The Rokinon 85mm T1.5 is a pretty good lens, provided that you have the skills to manual focus.  I have to use LiveView. 

The lens has a curious behavior, though, which actually fit the physics of light refraction through a lens.  When you under forcus, short of the subject, you will see Chromatic Distortion in the form of green fringing.  When you over focus, behind the subject, you will see CD in the form of purple fringing.