cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon EF 70mm-200mm is ll USM Lens

Mallard
Contributor

Using T2i body, hand hold @ night lit sports Soccer. I had allot of blurring (Goalie standing still) last season in the later part of the matches.  I was using a EFS-55-250 1:4-5.6 is ll.  Used Sports mode AV, and M. Blurring remained a problem at still shots or actions shots.  I figure I need the f/2.8 to gather enough light to accomplish the results wanted.    I would like some info on lens above, both pros and cons although it proably doesn't have any cons.  I am not a pro or anywhere close.  Started shooting when I got my first Canon AE-1.  I will be mostly using @ 200mm with f/2.8 in the applications above.  Will this lens get the job done?   I have read that @ 200mm the outer edges of the images are white or a lot lighter than the inner poritions.  Is there any truth to this?  If so, can it be handled in a photo program if I shoot in RAW?   Any guidence would be greatly appreciated!

35 REPLIES 35

The fact of life is, Canon likes to use the same sensor in several different models. Most of the Rebels use the same 17.9mp sensor.  Yes, you do get some juiced up electronics but the same sensor.  From aT2i to aT5i is not going to shake up the world.  TheT6i did get a newer sensor.  The70D sensor if I am remembering correctly and of course some better processing.

Even the 7D had the same 17.9mp sensor.  The 7D Mk II gets the new one and better processing.

Of course comparing the f4 vs f2.8 zoom is not a huge step.  But either of these lenses are not even in the same zip code as the 55-250mm.  It is 'almost' a given that glass trumps anything else you can do the improve your photos.  And the bottom line is the 70-200mm f2.8L USM IS II is the best lens of its kind made by any company.  Bar none.

IMHO, go for the lens first.  If it still doesn't do what you want get the T6i or 7D Mk II.