cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon EF 24mm f/2.8 IS for Rebel (in newer DSLR photographer's hands)

amatula
Enthusiast

Hi,

I am headed for England in two weeks and thought to upgrade my Canon SL1 lens (I currently use the standard 18-55 IS lens).

Since my shots tend to be landscape (70%), people (20%), and action (10%) approximately, I was thinking this lens might be good:

Canon EF 24mm f/2.8 IS (https://www.usa.canon.com/internet/portal/us/home/products/details/lenses/ef/wide-angle/ef-24mm-f-2-...).

I am thinking this particular lens for these reasons:

- the F2.8 aperture for low light shooting

- wide angle / landscape

- has image stabilization

- sharper than the standard lens (from what I have read anyway)

But I recall someone mentioning that as a newer DSLR photographer, I should be careful with more advanced lens. I am unsure why (why I am a newer DSLR photographer -- there is so much I have yet to learn!).

So my thought is to purchase and take it to England with me (as my sole lens) for mostly landscape photograhy (and I am going to Stonehenge) so I am hoping for some good shots and good technique.

Does anyone see any reasons why this would not be a good choice for me? Or perhaps another lens might work better for my purposes?

Again, my thought is since I am newer with DSLR photography, there are still many things I do not understand and need to continue to work to grow into.  That's why I appreciate this forum so much - I learn from you too (while also knowing that my growth will come as I continue to use the camera/lens).

I just do not want to buy a lens and fail miserably with it on vacation so I welcome any feedback on:

1. This lens (especially in the hands of a newbie)
  2. Other suitable/better lenses for my purposes
  3. Any should-knows as regards using an advanced lens

Thank you again!

Annie

5 REPLIES 5

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP