cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon 70d Lens Reco

marinokl
Apprentice

Hello!

I'm looking for purchase my first dslr and have decided on Canon's new 70d. I'm really excted about the big purchase, but wanted to compliment it right off the bat with some good starter lenses. I've been told to purchase the body only and then get two good lenses to get my started, rather than going with the kits. As a result, I was hoping to get your opinions since many of you probably know far more than most people do about Canon and their lenses 🙂

Thus far, people have recommended some combination of two of the following. Any thoughts on these? Please feel free to throw any other recommendations out there. Since I'm just getting started, I'd like to stay around $1,000 for my first two lenses until I get more familiar with my camera, etc.

EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5

50mm 1.8

35 mm 1.8

18-200 mm

Thank you!

Kristen

4 REPLIES 4

diverhank
Authority

For $1000 budget, I'd recommend getting a 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens.  If you look in the used market (like Craiglist) you can get brand new lens from people who bought camera+lens combo but already has the lens for under $900.

================================================
Diverhank's photos on Flickr