cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon 100-400 mm mk1 AF Doesn't Work (Help Diagnoses)

NirvanNa
Apprentice

Hi everyone, opening this topic asking for Help, for my 100-400mm canon mk1 diagnoses the AF Problem.

I give some time for a dissembly the lens, and i confirm, there is not any residual rusty in the PCB connectors our some flat cables damage.

Like is says, the AF mode dont turn on and i notice those things:

the IS Works on camera

The botton AF/MF dont siwtch on camera (ony MF)

When i use the manual focus and do Half focus Botton, i have the confirmation focus Point, but no Auto focus

Waht to you think? 

IT is a USM MOTOR our Pcb bionet problem?

1.JPG

our usm motor 

2.JPG

[Links removed per forum guidelines.  Images from linked pages added to facilitate discussion.]

thanks guys

7 REPLIES 7

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings,

I have no idea what your background is or if this version is still under support?  Did you try to call Canon and inquire about service or repair?  Might be worth it.  If this is a 1998 lens, ok, but the 2014 model might still be under support.

I'm not sure.  I know others here who own this lens, maybe not the mk1, but they might have more to add.  I hope you'll figure it out.  

~Rick
Bay Area - CA

~R5 C (1.0.6.1) ~RF Trinity, ~RF 100 Macro, ~RF 100~400, ~RF 100~500, +RF 1.4x TC, +Canon Control Ring, BG-R10, 430EX III-RT ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~DaVinci Resolve ~Windows11 Pro ~ImageClass MF644Cdw/MF656Cdw ~Pixel 8
~CarePaks Are Worth It

Thanks for the reply

im searching for a diy repair at home, but just a repair part confirmation.

Without at least a schematic, you really can't perform any sort of practical tests at home to determine which section is at fault.  The AF/MF switch is about the only thing you may actually be able to test to ensure that the contacts are actually working on it, use a DMM or even an analog meter.