cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can i use macro ring light ML3 without macro lenses

massonspy
Apprentice

i just got macro ring light ML3 and installed it on regular lenses ( the one you purchase with the camera)

Impossible to take pictures as its to bright. I am a newbie in photography.

I need to take before and after pictures in dentistry. Its important the images show aproximately the same colour balance every time you take them.

I have heard they use macro ring flashes so i purchased them.

The question is: Do i necessary need macro lenses to get these pictures right or i can use regular lenses as well.

What camera settings would work for this purpose?

Manual or Auto?

Aperture ?

Flash settings?

How do i set the camera right to get alike images every time i take them?

Thnx

9 REPLIES 9

cicopo
Elite

It's been a long time since I had the ML 3 but you'll have to shoot in Manual & experiment on settings because it won't communicate with a modern DSLR. As for lenses again not sure because you usually mount the flash to the end of the lens either with a screw on adapter ring or using a groove that's built into the lens. I would think you could get by with the kit lens by shooting from a few feet out but a dedicated macro lens will allow a bit more flexibility in just how you frame your shot.

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

What would you suggest for the manual settings ? I am taking intraoral pictures and i have to stay close to get the subject. I find it very hard to acomplish as if you take them to close it will appear very bright if you go to far they come black. What am i missing here

@massonspy wrote: