cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bower 500mm fixed lens NO AF.

PhotosByNeva
Enthusiast

I have a Canon 6D and my husband got me a 500 mm fixed lens. No autofocus and I want to know what would be the best settings for moon shots. In particular quarter or half moon. I get some good ones and then I get some that are too bright if I use the M setting or P setting. I want to try setting the camera myself. ISO, aperture, etc.

Any suggestions?

19 REPLIES 19

The folks who write "The Photographer's Ephemeris" also have an app named "The Photographer's Transit".

Fantastic shot!

Just took a look at the blurbs about both of the above products online. Seems that they are free, which seems like a fair price to me. They are also available for PC, which is good for me because I am the only person in a developed country who still doesn't have an iPhone.

Most of this subject is over my head, but I'll get tutored somehow later. I'm still studying the basics of our solar system; that is, how the earth, moon and sun work together throughout the year.

Norm

PS. Through more online research, I finally figured out how the app that I posted earlier works. However, it would seem that the above s/w's are more germane.

Addendum: Since you are an astrophotography aficionado, I suppose that you also use a telescope w/camera from time to time. If so, must you buy a separate tripod and head, or will those used for zoom lens w/camera do?

Norm

@Norm53 wrote:

Addendum: Since you are an astrophotography aficionado, I suppose that you also use a telescope w/camera from time to time. If so, must you buy a separate tripod and head, or will those used for zoom lens w/camera do?

Norm

So there are two different answers to this question.