cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bokeh has parallel lines with 100-400 f4.5-5.6 and slower autofocus

mfostervt
Contributor

I recently upgraded from a prime 400 5.6 to the 100-400 4.5-5.6.   Many of my shots have a bokeh with parallel lines in it.  Trying to figure out why.  I have a UV filter on, not a polarizer, which was my first thought.  I have not tried without a filter yet, but will.  Thought maybe someone here might have an idea why I'm getting this.  The other thing I have noticed is that the autofocus is not as fast as with the prime and sometimes struggles to get to focus.  I'm a bird photographer, so sometimes my subject is quite small and in a bunch of branches, but my prime was faster.  I still like the final photo result of the new lens better, so I'm sticking with it.  I attached an example of the bokeh problemBlackpollWarbler-2-160601.jpg

43 REPLIES 43

"I would have never guessed that the motors in the camera and lens could create harmonics, but it totally makes sense.  I have now taken a bunch of photos without the filter, and have yet to find an image with the same distortion." 

Don't take it as fact.  I guessed, too.  I can see those distortions both with or without a filter, but not always.  I need to investigate this further.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

Thanks to you both.  I am trying the sharpening in Lightroom right now and it seems to work really well.  Seems there is always a trick that I don't know and something more to learn.  

Here is an image from today of a spotted sandpiper.  I did crop the original about 75% and tried the image sharpening sharpening trick from TT Martin.  A great trick and one that will become a part of my normal processing procedure.  I had to use a little luminence on this one to clean up some noise.  Thanks again to all for the great help.

IMG_6948.jpg