cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bokeh has parallel lines with 100-400 f4.5-5.6 and slower autofocus

mfostervt
Contributor

I recently upgraded from a prime 400 5.6 to the 100-400 4.5-5.6.   Many of my shots have a bokeh with parallel lines in it.  Trying to figure out why.  I have a UV filter on, not a polarizer, which was my first thought.  I have not tried without a filter yet, but will.  Thought maybe someone here might have an idea why I'm getting this.  The other thing I have noticed is that the autofocus is not as fast as with the prime and sometimes struggles to get to focus.  I'm a bird photographer, so sometimes my subject is quite small and in a bunch of branches, but my prime was faster.  I still like the final photo result of the new lens better, so I'm sticking with it.  I attached an example of the bokeh problemBlackpollWarbler-2-160601.jpg

43 REPLIES 43

"Taken today with the 7D Mk II and EF 100-400 L IS II @ 400mm with the B+W CLEAR MRC-Nano." 

Nice.  I don't know how you guys get so close, but nice job.  I do note the fact that you have photographed the bird at a feeding location, which takes good scouting and planning.  Good shots like those do not happen by accident, and require planning.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

"...shots like those do not happen by accident, and require planning."

And luck!

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

@ebiggs1 wrote:

"...shots like those do not happen by accident, and require planning."

And luck!

Consistent luck is more properly described as skill.

"Consistent luck is more properly described as skill."

Still a beginner!, Huh?

EB

"Some of the softness there is likely atmospheric haze / humidity."

Bingo!  Anytime you shoot that far away the atmosphere is not your friend.  Especially over water.