cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best EF L lense as workhorse for 80d

Jonatanlofberg
Contributor
Hi,

I'm a filmmaker wanting to do this full-time, weddings, commercial, travel films, content creation etc.
I currently own a 80d, and will most probably upgrade to full frame in a year or two. But before that I want to invest in a dynamic high end lense that I can use for most jobs. I'm looking at either Canon ef 16-35mm f/2.8L III USM or Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM.
So basically a need a EF L lense that is good for thr both cropped sensor cam I use now, and the full fram i will upgrade to later.
25 REPLIES 25

Jonatanlofberg
Contributor
Do you know if it hold the f2.8 during zoom like the 16-35 does? Thanks for all the helpful answers

@Jonatanlofberg wrote:
Do you know if it hold the f2.8 during zoom like the 16-35 does? Thanks for all the helpful answers

Yes, the Canon 17-55mm f.2.8 IS USM does have a constant aperture... holds f/2.8 throughout the range.

It's images and general performance is "L-quality" (same with 10-22mm USM and 15-85mm).

HOWEVER, these are all EF-S lenses and won't work on full frame, which you specified.

In fact, aside from a more "mid-grade" style of build, they could be L-series, except that no EF-S lens ever will be. The reason is that one of the criteria to qualify as an L, a lens much work on all EOS cameras past, present and future.  EF-S lenses are "crop only", so none of them will ever have red stripes painted on them or an L after their name. They easily meet other criteria for L (performance and use of exotic glass... in fact these particulr EF-S have more exotic elements than some L!)

Alan Myers
San Jose, Calif., USA
"Walk softly and carry a big lens."
GEAR: 5DII, 7DII (x2), 7D(x2) some other cameras, various lenses & accessories
FLICKR & ZENFOLIO 

"Do you know if it hold the f2.8 during zoom like the 16-35 does?"