cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Beginner photographer looking for lens advice

asprinkem90
Apprentice

I have a Canon T6i and I absolutely love it. I want to start putting money towards new lenses and I'm looking for some suggestions to replace the kit lens. I picked up a EF 50mm f/1.8 STM which looks amazing and feels high quality in every way, but I'm finding it has limited use. I'd like to supplement it with something that has the versatility of the EFS 18-55mm that my camera came with.

Eventually I'd like to get the other lens that comes with the Travel Kit (EF-S 10–18mm f/4.5–5.6 IS STM) but I'm thinking that's exclusively for landscapes and wouldn't be a good "everyday" lens.

Of course I'm a complete beginner here and really don't know much about this, just learning as I go, so any advice is helpful.

Thank you!

4 REPLIES 4

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

1.  Which version of the EF-S 18-55mm kit lens do you have?  Does the model number end with "STM"

2.  The EF 50mm f/1.8 STM is a great lens.  It is great for learning photography, and shooting portraits.

3.  Before I could recommend a lens, tell us what is it that you like to photograph?

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

"3.  Before I could recommend a lens, tell us what is it that you like to photograph?"

Before you or we know this you will still just waste your money on lenses you don't need or like.  You found that out with the 50 mil purchase. While it may be a good lens it is so limited and specialized in its ability, it not for general use. Also, it teaches you nothing your kit lens can't.  BTW, your kit lens is the best general all around lens that is why Canon includes it in the "kit".