cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Astrophotography Lens?

LTCSZ
Apprentice

Hello: I am just getting into astrophotography and am looking for a good, entry level wide angle  lens for my SL2...It needs to be f1.4 or f2.0...I am willing to consider used if in good shape...Any advice will beappreciated! Thanks...

13 REPLIES 13

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

Rokinon 24mm f/1.4 is one to consider.

Plenty of information available on YouTube for this topic.

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

"Rokinon 24mm f/1.4 is one to consider."

The above Rok is a good lens. A bunch of my astro buds use one. But keep in mind it will behave like a 39mm lens on your camera. Not really all that wide for a deep sky lens. Although a stop slower the Rokinon 14mm F/2.8 lens (22mm equivalent) might be a better choice. I am sure either will work.

There is also the Rokinon 10mm f/2.8 which I know nothing about nor anyone that has one. One of the guys that shoots the sky said he was looking at it.

Rokinon is a unique lens maker.  People either love them or they hate them. I personally don't own one. But several of my friends do. I used to do a lot of astrophotography but I don't do much any more. I have a Tokina AT-X 16-28mm f/2.8 Pro FX Lens that does what little work I do.

abc.jpg

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

"It needs to be f1.4 or f2.0 ..."

BTW, you were inquiring about wide angle sky lenses? Smiley Wink

EB

@LTCSZ,

The advice that Ernie and John has provided is excellent.

The only thing I can add is an endorsement for Rokinon glass.  I just purchased a 12mm f2.8.  I haven't used it for astrophotography, but can say from a performance and clarity standpoint, the optical quality is definitely there.  Even at the edges.