cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Aperture Help

matt204
Apprentice

Hello everyone.

I'm new to the dslr world and I have Canon 5d mark ii with a EF 24-105mm 1:4 L IS USM macro ultrasonic lens. On Av I can adjust the aperture from 4 to 22 but it does nothing to blur the background of the subject. When I adjust the apertrue number on the camera I do not see the lens open or close. I have no error codes. And on automatic it takes great photos but I wanted to play with the manual settings and get to know how to use them. Any ideas? Thank you!

12 REPLIES 12

@matt204 wrote:

Thanks for the input everyone!. I can see now I didn't have a issue with the lens it was that the lowest f stop is 4 and I need to get a lens that goes to a 2.8 or 2 and of course I need to get out there and practice with the camera!

Practicing is a must.  But, it also helps to know what you are doing, too.  An understanding of basic photography is something that should not be ignored.  If you do not understand exposure and depth of field, then you will never learn to use the camera in the creative modes.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

You do not really need a wide aperture for background blur.  It helps, but it is not mandatory.  This was shot with a 6D at 100mm at f/4.5.  I was using the EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM lens.  

94E14931-5EE6-440B-9D51-9C7CA7F90C10.jpeg

The subject was very close to the camera.  Obviously, the background is relatively quite distant.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

There's a small button located below the lens-release on the front of the camera.  That button is the "Depth of Field Preview" button.

If you push that button, the camera will stop down the aperture blades to the f-stop that the camera will use for the the shot