cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advice on buying a used 70-200 USM IS ii

docsgp
Contributor

Greetings all. I am ready to invest in a serious lens. I am strongly leaning towards the 70-200 f2.8L IS USM ii. I am planning on lookin at one for sale tomorrow. I have NO experience with used leneses, especially of this level. Aside from the obvious things like "does it work", what should I be looking out for? Anything specific to this lens to be aware of? Thanks in advance!!

10 REPLIES 10

wq9nsc
Authority
Authority

I would take your camera along to do some quick test shots with a camera with which you are highly familiar and do so with the various IS modes on and off along with using the focusing limiter and of course trying several focal lengths.

Basically first take a good look at it for signs of rough handling, some gear will bear a lot of wear marks but be careful of gear carelessly treated.  GENTLY shake it and listen for any unusual noise. The zoom and focus rings should move smoothly and the AF motor is very quiet on this so there shouldn't be any unusual AF noise.  Set the camera to a couple of closed down aperture values and press your DoF preview button while looking into the front of the lens, you should see the aperture petals close smoothly to the selected setting without sticking or jittering behavior.

Take a look at both the front and rear exposed glass taking a close look for scratches or damage to the coating on the front.  There may be a clear protective front filter in place, I use a quality one on all of my smaller lens that have a front filter thread.  The weather sealing ring on the rear and the mounts and contacts will give you a good idea if this is a lens that has been on and off of cameras a lot.