cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

85mm, 100mm, or 135mm? for 5d Mark II

samanathaconlon
Apprentice

I have a Canon 5d Mark II with a Canon 50mm f1.8, Canon 35mm f2 and Tamrom 28-75 f28 lens. I am a portrait and wedding photographer shooting nearlu 90% of time with natural light. I'm on a tight budget €300 or less and wondering which lens would be a better addition to my kit, an 85mm, 100mm or 135mm? I am looking at Canon EF 85mm f1.8 USM lens as it's budget friendly and looks like a really nice piece, however I'm wondering if with hte Tamron going to 75mm would a 100mm or more be a better addition? 

7 REPLIES 7

TTMartin
Authority
Authority

@samanathaconlon wrote:

I have a Canon 5d Mark II with a Canon 50mm f1.8, Canon 35mm f2 and Tamrom 28-75 f28 lens. I am a portrait and wedding photographer shooting nearlu 90% of time with natural light. I'm on a tight budget €300 or less and wondering which lens would be a better addition to my kit, an 85mm, 100mm or 135mm? I am looking at Canon EF 85mm f1.8 USM lens as it's budget friendly and looks like a really nice piece, however I'm wondering if with hte Tamron going to 75mm would a 100mm or more be a better addition? 

Your zoom lens already covers 75mm so I would go with a longer lens. The EF 100mm f/2 USM as a minimum.

great thanks! 

I own the EF 135mm f/2L and it is a fantastic lens.  Just be aware that 135mm focal length means you may have to step back a bit from your subject to frame them (especially if the "subject" is a group.)  The look you get is fantastic as these lenses can really blur out the background in ways very few other lenses can achieve.

I have not personally used the 100mm f/2.  

You could certainly rent the lenses to evaluate them.

Tim Campbell
5D III, 5D IV, 60Da

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend