cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

70-200mm f/2.8L IS II focus/sharpness issues

Lottie
Apprentice

Let me start by saying I'm a complete beginner. I can't work out if it's because I've accidentally dropped the lens before (it fell out of my bag onto concrete Smiley Sad), or because I use it with a 7 year old 550D that has also been dropped and never cleaned, or whether it's just my settings, but most of my pictures are turning out horribly. I've been trying my hand at concert and candid photography. Sometimes the camera will only focus around the sides of the image and not in the center like I want it to. Sometimes subjects look ghostly(?) around the edges and not sharp at all. If dropping the lens has affected the focus/sharpness, is it easily repaired? Probably very expensive, I know, but it's still under warranty if that helps. And I currently live in Korea which seems to be good place for camera needs.

3 REPLIES 3

ScottyP
Authority

So much dropping here it kind of hurts to read. 

None of the things you describe really sound like they are clearly the result of physical abuse. I am having difficulty envisioning the ghostly effect around the edges but it could just be out of focus bokeh which most people actually like.