cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

5D Mark 3 auto focus problem.

w15938713330
Contributor

I probably shudl post my question on lens section but i cant find the section anywhere.

Here is the thing , I bought a used 24-70 2.8L USM online, tne seller claimed that he tested the functionality and no problem upon mailing the lens.

However I run into some issuses.

1)When I use AF, the lens is consistently focusing in front and back without actually taking the picture.Pictures shot by MF is normal and working normally.
2) The eyecup vision is extremely dark through the lens.I can barely see the object through the eyecup.

I tried with different lens(24-105mm) but non of the problem occurred(Using exact camera setting). Since i am a beginner , is this issue about my camear, or i should try to fix the lens. How can i reslove those two problems.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Definitely return it and make sure you follow all of the "rules" if this is from ebay or another online auction site to avoid problems.  Although the aperture petals MAY have gotten stuck during shipping, it is likely this problem was known before it was sold so don't expect the seller to necessarily be gracious in accepting the return.  A stuck aperture is not uncommon on a lens that has been left to sit for a very long period of time but once it happens the only way to be confident it won't be an ongoing issue is to have it properly serviced and since this is far from a "rare" lens it would be best to return it and get a good working copy.

Rodger

EOS 1DX M3, 1DX M2, 1DX, 5DS R, M6 Mark II, 1D M2, EOS 650 (film), many lenses, XF400 video

View solution in original post

21 REPLIES 21

Right now in los angeles all non essential business are closed. I am taking the easier way, which is return it for good. 

I spent $650 for this lens guess i have to return it , thanks for the estimated price !