cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

3ti wide lens?

wendywa
Apprentice

I recently bought a Canon 3ti kit with the standard 18-55 lens.

I am a realtor and need to often take photos of smaller rooms.  I do not want the fish bowl effect but I would like to be able to shoot wider and get more of the room than just one corner.

What do I need to look for in a lens that can do this?  Or is it possibly a setting on the camera that I have not discovered?  

I am a super novice with the camera.  So far I have only mastered the 'auto' setting.

7 REPLIES 7

Skirball
Authority

Canon 10-22.  I'd go so far as to say that it, with a Rebel, has become the industry standard for RE photography.  It's a great lens, I miss it terribly since moving to FF.

So far I am enjoying it but it is a bit overwhelming. I need to learn my way off of the auto mode. It has worked well except for rooms with a lot of light coming in through the windows. I can't seem to balance the light in the picture.
Thanks for the quick reply on the lens!

Read your manual re using Exposure Compensation in Program (or most modes other than Auto or full manual). That should help with the brightness but you may also need to learn how to shoot some of those situations using the flash & / or Flash Exposure Compensation. Practice a bit & it will become second nature.

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."