cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

35mm for 70d!!

jaisomnmick1
Apprentice

hi this is both a question and asking for recommendations. i have a 70D with a 50mm 1.4. i heard that the 70D is an APSC camera which means if i buy the wrong lens, the view could be narrower than intended.

do i have to specially look out for APSC lenses when i'm buying? if so, are there any letters or indicators that let me know that?

or better yet, can someone recommend me some great lenses i can look into?

i'm pretty new to cameras as a whole, so i apologize if this question is eye roll inducing.

17 REPLIES 17

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

Lenses are lenses and focal length is FL.  Your 70D will use either "EF" or "EF-S" lenses.  What is different is the angle of view.  It is this AOV that you need to be aware of. On a FF DSLR the 50mm lens is considered normal. On a 70D it is more like the 35mm.  Neither is actually normal as a factor of the approximate AOV of the human eye.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

"...can someone recommend me some great lenses ..."

IMHO, either one of these two lenses is not only "great lenses" but mandatory if you want the best from your 70D.  The EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM Lens or the Sigma 18-35mm f/1.8 DC HSM Art Lens for Canon.  One of those is where you need to start.  Each has an advantage over the other but either is very good and a great choice. The Canon is slightly longer at the tele side and the Siggy is slightly faster at wide open.  Which is more important to you?

You have probably noticed the 50mil you have is somewhat limited to its usefulness. IIWY, I would not look at any more prime lenses, that is non-zoom lenses.  Zoom lenses are far more friendly and give up little, if any, in IQ.