cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

35mm for 70d!!

jaisomnmick1
Apprentice

hi this is both a question and asking for recommendations. i have a 70D with a 50mm 1.4. i heard that the 70D is an APSC camera which means if i buy the wrong lens, the view could be narrower than intended.

do i have to specially look out for APSC lenses when i'm buying? if so, are there any letters or indicators that let me know that?

or better yet, can someone recommend me some great lenses i can look into?

i'm pretty new to cameras as a whole, so i apologize if this question is eye roll inducing.

17 REPLIES 17

Correct. I didn't mean to imply that the actual focal length would change. What I should have written is that you'll often see literature outline the 35mm equivalents.

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

I think it is time to forget about "35 mm equivalents" that ship sailed 20 years ago when digital eclipsed film. Now you could argue that we should talk about "22 mm equivalents" since smaller frames have a much larger share of the market!

@kvbarkley wrote:

I think it is time to forget about "35 mm equivalents" that ship sailed 20 years ago when digital eclipsed film. Now you could argue that we should talk about "22 mm equivalents" since smaller frames have a much larger share of the market!

I strongly agree in principle. If you're going to use a particular camera, you should think in terms of how a given lens behaves on that camera, not on a camera of some other type.