cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

100-400mm IS II autofocus issue

dsullens
Contributor

I recently purchased a new 100-400mm IS II lens and love it!  I have run into a small issue and not really sure of the cause.

I have been using the same Canon 6D for 4 years with 70-300mm IS and have not had this issue before.

For some reason I am randomly getting shots that are not in focus,  I have tried using just center point only,(which is what I have done primarily for the last 4 years) and also all points active. I have tried single shot, AI Focus and AI Servo mode.

I have attached 2 images taken back to back to show what I am seeing..shot2-in-focus.JPG

shot1-out-of-focus.JPG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Ray-uk
Whiz

I think this is a classic case that demonstrates the actual focus area in the camera may be slightly spread outside the displayed square. In the second shot the square is placed higher on the birds head and the AF selected the tree behind the bird because it was a higher contrast.

The only way to overcome this is to move a bit closer to the bird so that AF system has a larger target.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

Did you reverse the names? The one labeled OOF looks better to me than the one labeled in-focus.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

bento2
Enthusiast

I have suffered this with my 100-400 IS II as well. AS with yourself, I did not have an issue with my 70-300L.

For me it was basically 'user error'! - My hands are relatively large and I was sometimes moving the rear mounted focussing ring between shots - only fractionally, but enough to cause OOF.

Revising my left hand position on the lens has resolved the issue.

If only Canon had used 'fly-by-wire' MF with this lens it could have been disabled in AF mode!

@bento2 wrote:

I have suffered this with my 100-400 IS II as well. AS with yourself, I did not have an issue with my 70-300L.