cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A driver supporting solution menu ex is not installed

bobarola
Apprentice

I have a CanoScan LiDE 210 that I've been using for the last two years at least.  I recently used it about a week ago and had no issues with it.  For some reason when I tried using it today through MP Navigator and Solution Menu it doesn't work.  I get an error from Solution Menu where only the help features are available to be clicked and from MP Navigator it tells me that it cannot start.

I have tried reinstallation and even the driver update available from your site.  I'm not sure what the issue coudl be anymore.  I know it can start and the bulb works fine because when I plut the usb in my computer recognizes it and for a short while the scanner will light up, but that is all.  

I'd appreciate any and all help.

30 REPLIES 30

This is likely an OS problem, not a Canon one.

You need to completely remove the old installation before you try to reinstall the software. It is likely the corrupter driver is not being overwritten.

If you are unsure about how to remove the old driver, you may need to get a cleaner software.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

I had the same problem after Windows 10 Creators update in May 2017. However I finally managed to solve it as follows:

1. If you still have Canon Solution Menu Ex installed, open it to show its icons on the desktop. If not, download and install the programme first.
  2. If there is only one icon, click it to show the 'Shortcut menu', i.e. the other icons.
  3. Hover the mouse over these shortcut icons to show their function, and click on the one that says 'Show Main Screen'
  4. On the main rectangular screen, in the bottom left-hand corner is a square icon that looks like pliers and a screwdriver. Click on this icon and a screen comes up which allows you to enter the details of your printer, scanner, region etc.