cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

nighttime shooting at sports event

Hilda1
Contributor

I have a Canon Rebel Xs and when shooting football games all is great until it gets dark.  I use the sport mode, rapid shooting and I realize there isn't enough light for the shutter speed, so blurry pictures are the result.  I use a 250 mm lens but am thinking of getting a 300 mm lens, not sure if that will improve the problem.  A friend uses a 300 mm lens (Nikon) and her photos are not blurry.  What can I do to improve the nighttime pictures?

Thank you, Hilda

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

I would look into the t7i, and the TAMRON/Sigma 150-600 mm lens.

Assuming the "250mm" you have is the 55-250, that will work well on the T7i.

View solution in original post

20 REPLIES 20

“What kind of camera/lens would you recommend? I able to upgrade and would like some input from a pro.”

I am no pro.  Just a grandfather who is a photo geek.

This was shot with an EOS 6D at f/5.6, using ISO 12800, which was actually -1 Ev of automatic exposure compensation.  The camera was set to Manual, but with Auto ISO.  The exposure called for ISO 25600, but I capped my Auto ISO at 12800.

94D0F1F5-AF8D-42CA-B85B-A7ADA629FD20.jpeg

The lens was the EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM.  Processed in Adobe Lightroom.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

"I would look into the t7i, and the TAMRON/Sigma 150-600 mm lens."

I like this suggestion a lot. Make sure you get the G2 version of the big Tammy.  Next you will need to practice with it.  It is big and beautiful and will do the job but you need to learn how to use it.

Some other suggestions might be to use Av mode. Set the lens to f5.6 or f8.  Again, experiment with it and learn.  Select a fairly high ISO, say >3200 but try <1600 also. (Never use auto ISO)  Again, learn!  Let the camera select the SS.