cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Questions About Nature Photography? I'm Here to Help!

Tim
Authority

Hi Everyone! I'm Tim, a senior technician here at Canon. I'm going to be here on the Canon Forum, live later today, from 3:30-4:00pm EST to kick off a community discussion on Nature Photography! I'll be here to answer your questions, provide tips and bounce ideas around, so drop on by and join in on our conversation!

I'm a long time photographer with over fifteen years of technical and photographic experience with Canon and the imaging industry. I particularly enjoy working with full-frame cameras and Canon's Cinema EOS gear, and take every opportunity I can to capture the beauty of the Atlantic Ocean near my home.

Did this answer your question? Please click the Accept as Solution button so that others may find the answer as well.
23 REPLIES 23

clars
Apprentice

Regarding full-frame and crop sensors for shooting wildlife, do the crop sensors actually get you 1.6x closer? I know the sensor is larger on the full-frame, but how come the smaller crop sensors get you closer ot the subject or is it just appearing that way because of the tighter cropped image?

Hello Clars,

With regards to full frame cameras versus APS-C, there is a physical attribute of magnification with APS-C cameras (like the EOS Digital Rebel series).  So, for example, if you were to use an EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM lens on an APS-C camera, the focal length becomes an effective 112-320mm, but only on APS-C.  The reason being the difference in sensor size.  Canon's EF standard was originally developed for the 35mm film size.  So using an EF lens with full frame, focal lengths do not change.  The APS-C sensor, being smaller, imparts a slight magnification ratio which, as you know, is 1.6 times.