cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

uploading raw images

Lisa
Apprentice

I'm having trouble uploading files since beginning to shoot in RAW. I am a beginner at all of this, and really didn't know what RAW was until a fellow photo buddy said to shoot everything in RAW then you can edit. So that's what I've been doing but now I'm not albe to upload to Facebook or my shutterfly acct. to transfer photos for file. Please let me know what I'm dong wrong.

5 REPLIES 5

cicopo
Elite

You can't upload RAW images. The fact is that a RAW file isn't an image but just computer code. You convert that code to an image using a software program such as the one that came with yout camera or maybe a Photoshop program or one of the many other image editing programs being sold. You use the program to modify the file to suit your eyes & then save to a jpg for uploading. You may also want to save at a lower resolution if it's just for the web. 

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

Lisa,

RAW files are so large you wouldn't want to upload them to Facebook, Photobucket, etc., anyway.  Use your image editing program and convert RAW images to uncompressed TIF files, carry out the editing you want, then save the final file to share as a JPG.  People will thank you if you're sharing a file that's only 500K instead of multi-megabytes.

amfoto1
Authority

You've gotten some good responses already, but a little info more might help...

There are many types of digital image files, created for different purposes.

JPEGs are some of the most universally used, but are compressed to smaller sizes to save space on memory cards, hard drives and to speed up their use online...  and lose a lot of the originally captured data in the process.