cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Which camera should I buy for a first timer

SalahYousef
Apprentice

Hello everyone. This is my first post here. I am a 22 year old student at a college majoring in electronics and communications. Soon as am done with college am moving to a film school to learn about filmmaking. However, right now am educating myself with filmography and video shots by reading books. The only thing left for me is buying a camera. Which camera do you guys recommend me buy for a first timer ? Same thing with accessories. My budget is 1000 USD

Many people in other forums recommened the Canon T3i

Do you guys think I shoud start with a camcorder or a DSLR for a starter who wants to learn filmography?

3 REPLIES 3

Mykolas
Authority

Hi SalahYousef!

Thank you for posting!

If you will only be shooting video, a camcorder may be the better route.  However, if you intend to shoot still images at any point as well, a DSLR is a good way to go.

The EOS Rebel series models are great for your budget.  The EOS Rebel T5i is our most recent model.  The standard kit averages around $899.  The EOS Rebel T3i is not a bad recommendation at all if you want to go that route.  The kit averages about $599, so this would give you some room in the budget to spare for additional accessories, such as more lenses.

This didn't answer your question or issue? Find more help at Contact Us.

Did this answer your question? Please click the Accept as Solution button so that others may find the answer as well.

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

This is a slightly complicated question.

A camcorder is specifically designed for video.  But a DSLR camera is designed for still image and can also shoot video.

But there is one reason why video users are extremely interested in DSLRs... and that has to do with the lenses.