cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What DSLR camera and lenses should I buy???

ShockinGoku327
Contributor
so I'm a beginner at astrophotography and I want to know what camera below 500$$$ should I buy and what lenses should I get . I currently own a telescope and a low quality camera for telescope and I want to expand my knowledge and beauty of the universe.

So if yall can give me some options that would be great
24 REPLIES 24

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

You did not say what type of camera you currently own.  It might be enough.  Astrophotography can be an expensive hobby.  If you do not have a quality tracking mount for your telescope, I think that is probably more important than a camera upgrade.  

You will also want to have image stacking software, too.  There are some quality applications that are free.  I suggest that you start small with wide angle photos of the night sky, and work your way up to long exposures using your telescope.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

ShockinGoku327
Contributor
Well its a camera for planetary view it can't get the colors for stars or nebulas.

I got the stacking software aswell but yeah I want a wide field camera so I can build myself up, so you got any ideas you could share???

I doubt $500 will cover it.  But if I were starting from square one today and wanted to do sky photos, I would buy the best Rebel (with no lens) I could afford and the Rokinon 14mm F/2.8 Lens. However, that comes in around $750.  If you don't get at least adequate gear, you will not like it and get frustrated quickly.  Plus the Rebel also makes a great general purpose camera so it will get used a lot more.

BTW, you need Photoshop, not an option.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

ShockinGoku327
Contributor