cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What DSLR camera and lenses should I buy???

ShockinGoku327
Contributor
so I'm a beginner at astrophotography and I want to know what camera below 500$$$ should I buy and what lenses should I get . I currently own a telescope and a low quality camera for telescope and I want to expand my knowledge and beauty of the universe.

So if yall can give me some options that would be great
24 REPLIES 24

ShockinGoku327
Contributor
The generation of today have alot of resources and ways to see Saturn's rings , i own a 5" telescope and what I see is incredible thats way I want to do astrophotography to spread what I see so that other people get to see it

"... i own a 5" telescope ..."

Some commercial telescopes have a way or adapter to mount a camera.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

KenJohansen
Apprentice

I am a professional photographer and have owned a 10 inch reflector with an EQ mount (Equitorial Mount).  This reverses the earths rotation so you can track any celestial object all night once the system is set up right.  Orion Telescopes today have upgraded this mount to an EQG and EQG2 which are computerized to show over 30,000 objects and they will automatically move the telescope to the object that you have chosen.  They have several star shooter cameras specially designed for the ameteur market with processing software to give the stunning colors that you get from NASA from a land based telescope.  There will be atmospohereic distortions and other problems.  They also sell a star tracker that will lock in on 1 star so the telescope will track that star for sharp celestial object photography.