cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Versatile lighting for outdoor and in studio?

Loveworthy
Apprentice
I have been shooting for 5 years natural light... And am wanting to invest in some lighting for my home studio and to use at wedding receptions... What would be the best to invest in that I could use for both?
Canon 50d, canon 5d mk II, canon 70-200 f2.8, canon 50 f1.8, tamron 24-70 f2.8, canon 580 ex II speedlight
3 REPLIES 3

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

The 580EX II is a good place to start.  Get several more and remote triggers.  You will need stands, too.  I take them to weddings and they set up easily and quickly.  Usually only at the receptions as most churchs frown on flash or any kind of extra light.  Some are OK with before and after though.

The problem, and I generally discourage folks from doing so, with home studios is the ceiling is too low.  Usually a problem that can't be over come.  If on the other hand your home has 10' or higher ceilings you may be OK.

Avoid hot lights and stick with strobes if you want to go bigger than the 580's.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

@ebiggs1 wrote:

The 580EX II is a good place to start.  Get several more and remote triggers.  You will need stands, too.  I take them to weddings and they set up easily and quickly.  Usually only at the receptions as most churchs frown on flash or any kind of extra light.  Some are OK with before and after though.

The problem, and I generally discourage folks from doing so, with home studios is the ceiling is too low.  Usually a problem that can't be over come.  If on the other hand your home has 10' or higher ceilings you may be OK.

Avoid hot lights and stick with strobes if you want to go bigger than the 580's.

ebiggs already addressed the studio... I'll mention the weddings.