cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgrade T1i or keep?

Sunshine-State
Contributor

I own a Canon T1i and really like it. About a month ago, I went to buy a wide angle lens.  The salesman told me the lens would work but because the camera was old, I would not get full functionality.  So I'm wondering if I should just buy a newer camera instead of investing further in the older technology.  If recommendation is to buy, any suggestions as to which model?  I am not a professional, but enjoy photography a lot.  A friend recommended the Canon 6D but the price is pretty steep.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

ScottyP
Authority

Hi Edith,

The 17-40 would not be noticably wider than the 18-55 kit lens (17 vs. 18 is not much different)  The IQ would be better, as would the build quality, but it would not widen your view significantly. 

If you do want a wide angle lens for your crop sensor camera, you should look to something like the Canon EF-s 10-22 lens for about $700, or the Sigma 10-20mm for about $480. 

You can watch Craigslist and find these used for about 25% off if you are willing to wait for one to come available in your area. 

Somehow used lenses on Ebay always seem to sell for nearly new prices. 

Also a good place to look is the Canon refurbished store (direct from Canon).  Their refurb lenses are as good or better than new, and if you catch them during a rebate, they are a good discount.  See below.

http://shop.usa.canon.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/subCategorySort_10051_10051_-1_22751_highPrice_l...

(They don't have the 10-22 refubished in stock right now).

Good luck!

Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites

Why do so many people say "FER-tographer"? Do they take "fertographs"?

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8