cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Understanding Noise

cjcampbellphoto
Contributor
Hi Canon Community,

I'm an amateur photographer looking to improve my skills and I'm struggling in low light situations.  I recently took some photos of my friends using a Canon 7D (the oldest model) and an EF 100-400mm f4.5-5.6L IS USM with the settings of:
ISO250 at 100mm f/4.5 and 1/125 sec.  The picture shows up with a TON of grain and I'm confused. The ISO isn't that high at all.  I bumped up the exposure by +2 in Lightroom just to show how much grain is in the photo:

IMG_8931-3.jpg

Any tips would be greatly appreciated!

Best,

CJ

34 REPLIES 34

@cjcampbellphoto wrote:

Forgive me, as being a new photographer, a lot of this is a bit over my head!

I was shooting in manual mode. What is program shift?

Since you were in manual mode, how did you decide on the three settings? Did you pick two and adjust the third till the exposure meter in the viewfinder was at zero?

Annotation 2019-10-26 084247.jpg

In P Program mode the camera will select a combination of ISO, shutter speed and aperture based on programmed criteria built into the camera. Sometimes a photographer might want to shift one of the parameters in a certain direction for effect - maybe shift aperture smaller for more depth of field and accept a slower shutter speed. Program shift will let you do that.

Annotation 2019-10-26 084446.jpg

Annotation 2019-10-26 084556.jpg

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

@cjcampbellphoto wrote:

Forgive me, as being a new photographer, a lot of this is a bit over my head!

I was shooting in manual mode. What is program shift?

You can continue shooting in Manual mode.  Setting ISO to Auto will almost always give you a correct exposure under most shooting conditions.

https://community.usa.canon.com/t5/General-Camera-Discussion/Canon-YouTube-Video-Series/m-p/269237#M...