cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Understanding Noise

cjcampbellphoto
Contributor
Hi Canon Community,

I'm an amateur photographer looking to improve my skills and I'm struggling in low light situations.  I recently took some photos of my friends using a Canon 7D (the oldest model) and an EF 100-400mm f4.5-5.6L IS USM with the settings of:
ISO250 at 100mm f/4.5 and 1/125 sec.  The picture shows up with a TON of grain and I'm confused. The ISO isn't that high at all.  I bumped up the exposure by +2 in Lightroom just to show how much grain is in the photo:

IMG_8931-3.jpg

Any tips would be greatly appreciated!

Best,

CJ

34 REPLIES 34

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

I admit to having bad eyes, but I think others would agree that your photo does not have a lot of grain or noise.  What part of the image shows the worst grain?  The LL Bean logo looks good, as does the dark area on the upper right.

If you are using LR, then you should be able to remove just about all noise in a properly exposed image.  With the latest subscription version of LR Classic your exposure can be off by a whole stop, and it can still clean it all up.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

I've heard differing schools of thought. I've heard that under exposing slightly is ok because you can bump up in the exposure, but I've also heard that overexposing and bringing down the exposure is better, as it results in less grain.  What are your thoughts on that?

@cjcampbellphoto wrote:

I've heard differing schools of thought. I've heard that under exposing slightly is ok because you can bump up in the exposure, but I've also heard that overexposing and bringing down the exposure is better, as it results in less grain.  What are your thoughts on that?