cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Understanding Noise

cjcampbellphoto
Contributor
Hi Canon Community,

I'm an amateur photographer looking to improve my skills and I'm struggling in low light situations.  I recently took some photos of my friends using a Canon 7D (the oldest model) and an EF 100-400mm f4.5-5.6L IS USM with the settings of:
ISO250 at 100mm f/4.5 and 1/125 sec.  The picture shows up with a TON of grain and I'm confused. The ISO isn't that high at all.  I bumped up the exposure by +2 in Lightroom just to show how much grain is in the photo:

IMG_8931-3.jpg

Any tips would be greatly appreciated!

Best,

CJ

34 REPLIES 34

There was no flash involved in the taking of this photo

Thank you so much! I'll definitely utilize YouTube University!

Bracketing is taking multiple exposures at different settings around what you think is correct. That way you are more likely to get a correct exposure.

You don't need a light meter*. The one in the camera should do fine - you can even set it for spot readings.

*Unless you need it for flash photography, but that is a whole nother kettle of fish.

@cjcampbellphoto wrote:

I've heard differing schools of thought. I've heard that under exposing slightly is ok because you can bump up in the exposure, but I've also heard that overexposing and bringing down the exposure is better, as it results in less grain.  What are your thoughts on that?

It's rarely such a simple choice. But all else equal, underexposure is better. You can correct, more or less, for underexposure in post-processing, and most editors will give you some control over the contrast. But if you overexpose enough to cause blown highlights, there's no corrective method available; the information just isn't there.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA