cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Understanding Noise

cjcampbellphoto
Contributor
Hi Canon Community,

I'm an amateur photographer looking to improve my skills and I'm struggling in low light situations.  I recently took some photos of my friends using a Canon 7D (the oldest model) and an EF 100-400mm f4.5-5.6L IS USM with the settings of:
ISO250 at 100mm f/4.5 and 1/125 sec.  The picture shows up with a TON of grain and I'm confused. The ISO isn't that high at all.  I bumped up the exposure by +2 in Lightroom just to show how much grain is in the photo:

IMG_8931-3.jpg

Any tips would be greatly appreciated!

Best,

CJ

34 REPLIES 34

" Noise will certainly occur when you are underexposed and boost exposure during PP."

Absolutely but I don't think what he is seeing or I see is noise.  It looks more like resolution of the lens which was not the best for that shot. Exposure is a problem certainly.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

@ebiggs1 wrote:

" Noise will certainly occur when you are underexposed and boost exposure during PP."

Absolutely but I don't think what he is seeing or I see is noise.  It looks more like resolution of the lens which was not the best for that shot. Exposure is a problem certainly.

I did not see significant noise, either.  It might be the lens.  It might be the APS-C sensor.  The original shot may have been off, but I think the photo does not descend to the level of bad.  I think it is pretty good.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

I agree about the noise.   I had been looking on a monitor that was not my own or up to scratch.  Now that I have had a chance to see it under better conditions I think that the image is a bit under exposed but not terribly noisy.