cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tripod Recommendation for Milky Way Photography

Edward1064
Enthusiast

I have zero experience with tripods and would appreciate some help.  Wanting to try some sky photography, I will need a tripod.  A couple from Manfrotto, the MT190XPRO3 and the MT190XPRO4 are recommended in an on-line website, along with one of the Manfrotto ball heads.  Does anyone have experience with either of these?  Are there others that might be better or more versatile, but still in this price range?

Thank you for your comments!

Edward

8 REPLIES 8

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

Do you already have a tracker?

No, I will not be using a tracker.  I want to use a 14 mm or 16 mm f.l. wide angle lens and keep exposure times short enough to minimize star trailing (I estimate that, with my APS-C sensor, a star's image will shift by one pixel in slightly less than 4 seconds, so I'll experiment and see how long an exposure I can get away with.) I know that there are some decent, inexpensive lenses with f/ numbers of 2.0 or 2.8.

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

Define Milky Way photography. Wide angle with landscapes or long focal length long exposures. In either case, I think you may find the Manfrotto 190s to be not quite enough.

You want a tripod that is very sturdy and robust you want one that will [not] budge in wind gusts, which almost rules out any tripod with a long center column. If you have a center column, then you will want to keep it fully lowered for long exposures. I use a Induro alloy video tripod, which has 75mm bowl and flat base bowl adapter.