cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Questions About Nature Photography? I'm Here to Help!

Tim
Authority

Hi Everyone! I'm Tim, a senior technician here at Canon. I'm going to be here on the Canon Forum, live later today, from 3:30-4:00pm EST to kick off a community discussion on Nature Photography! I'll be here to answer your questions, provide tips and bounce ideas around, so drop on by and join in on our conversation!

I'm a long time photographer with over fifteen years of technical and photographic experience with Canon and the imaging industry. I particularly enjoy working with full-frame cameras and Canon's Cinema EOS gear, and take every opportunity I can to capture the beauty of the Atlantic Ocean near my home.

Did this answer your question? Please click the Accept as Solution button so that others may find the answer as well.
23 REPLIES 23

@ebiggs1 wrote:
No matter how many pretty pictures you show with colored lines on it, no crop takes place.

Evidently the concept of something being relative to something else is beyond you.

The Nikon D800, their mega megapixel full frame camera offers a crop mode that does, literally, crop out part of the image.  While you can argue the usefulness of such a feature, it exists.  The camera also allows you to use DX lenses ("APS-C lenses") on a full frame camera when in one of those crop modes.  I would hope that when Canon enters the 35+ MP arena that they offer something similar.

@ebiggs1 wrote:
 Nobody tries to claim P&S's are crop cameras. Are 4x5's considered enlargement cameras? No. Because this is all photographic jargon to try and explain the relationship of the focal length of the lens. You are entering a time where lot's of people never used a film camera so "crop camera" is actually meaningless to them.