cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Protecting gear in Antarctica

Stubaan
Apprentice

Hello fundis!

I am going to Antarctica in Jan/Feb and am wondering what sagely advice some of you may have for securing your gear against the harsh environment. While the deep deep south is likely to be more cold than wet, I am also spending two weeks hopping around the Falklands/Islas Malvinas, which will entail greater risk of rain. Of course, getting from ship to shore on inflatables, irrespective of latitude, is also going to entail some serious splash but I will have a dry bag for that. My chief interest is in how to use my gear safely, and any weatherproofing tricks of the trade.

While down there I am planning to shoot footage for a documentary that explores how and why these wild places make such an impact on our human minds, and to help people understand the logical consequences of global change to the southern polar ecosystems (I have a PhD in environmental engineering). To that end I currently have a brand new D70 with 18-135 IS STM, a great Manfroto tripod and the H4N Zoom for audio. I may well have additional lenses by the time I leave - I am essentially a broke PhD graduate who got lucky with this trip, so I may try and buy then resell a decent used L lense or two (unless someone is crazy enough to lend a stranger in the San Fran area one of their most prized possession... *crickets chirping*... anyone?... worth a shot 😉 - but for now my focus is on figuring out how to be weather savvy in such a weather beaten part of the world. 

Many thanks! ANY advice welcome, of course 🙂

3 REPLIES 3

cicopo
Elite

see

http://forums.usa.canon.com/t5/EOS/How-do-I-prepare-my-7D-for-extreme-cold-temperatures-South-Pole/m...

And

http://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/topic/1257564

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

TCampbell
Elite
Elite