cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Printing quality

jmark
Contributor
Hi, just recently had interest in someone buying one of my photos. I've never done this before and I'm wondering how this will look. My photo is 6000x4000 pixels and 240ppi. Will the quality be good enough to print on plexiglass at 80cmx60cm.

I've never printed one of my photos bedore and haven't got a clue if this will turn out good or not. What do you think?
7 REPLIES 7

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

I just did a job for the school where they were making posters on canvas.  They posters are 24x36 inches which is not to far off from what you are doing.  The important thing here is to have the ratio of your image file the same as the final product.  In my case I sent 8x12 inch jpg's at 300 dpi to the printers'. All the printer had to do was scale my file up by a factor of 3.

If you don't observe this, cropping will happen or the printer will have to do some more editing.  They don't like that!

You can do the initial editing and image resizing in Photoshop. Get the ratio right!  Don't worry about dpi. There is no dpi until the photo is printed.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

Images don't have "ppi" ... only displays have that.  I honestly wish this particular bit of meta-data was removed from image files entirely.  You can edit the value of ppi all you want and absolutely nothing about the image will be changed in any way.  It's a made-up value that is completely meaningless.

If your image sensor is 6000x4000 resolution and let's just suppose it's a "full frame" sensor camera... then that's 36mm x 24mm... then surely there are a lot more than 240 pixels in an inch.  240 "ppi" doesn't represent anything about the image as it was recorded by teh camera.