cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Please help me to choose Canon camera and optics

rushabPmore
Apprentice

Hello everyone!

Please help me choose a new Canon camera and optics for my needs. The budget is from about 2500-5000 USD. But the closer the sum is to 5000 the less is the probability of them buying it...

I work as a photographer in an institute of plastic surgery.

My work consists of:

Taking before and after pictures of patients in a studio with lightning. Various body parts. Mostly faces and torso. Sometimes close up shots needed.
Taking pictures of surgeries in an operating room.
Event photography for the website and social media. Examples are conferences, lectures, celebrations.
Making portraits of surgeons and stuff in the clinic.
Sometimes I need to record videos as well. But that is not necessary.
My preferences. I personally like fixed optics with wide aperture. I think I would love to have 50 and 85 mm at least.

6 REPLIES 6

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

I would look at the EOS 80D and the Canon EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM Lens.  A top of the mark combo and it will come in for less than $2000.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

BTW, if you prefer a FF option, look at the EOS 6D Mark II and Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM Lens.  This option, again a great combo, is a little north of $3000.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

@ebiggs1 wrote:

I would look at the EOS 80D and the Canon EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM Lens.  A top of the mark combo and it will come in for less than $2000.

Make that "less than $2600", because for event photography you'll need a 600EX-RT external flash to go with it. With that lens (an excellent recommendation, BTW) the 80D's built-in flash will be useless, because the lens will cast a shadow in its coverage area.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

@rushabPmore wrote:

Hello everyone!