cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking to upgrade: suggestions?

TeriPSU
Apprentice

Hello! I am a photography hobbyist.  I love taking photos of my kids and family mostly, and sometimes nature.  I have a Canon Rebel T2i that I have had for over 10 years now along with a 55-250mm, 50mm, and an 18-55mm. I am looking to upgrade and still use my current lenses.  My main reason for the upgrade would be to have wifi upload capabilities, but also more sharpness, but stay in a similar price range from what my current camera was.  Any suggestions are welcomed! Thanks in advance!

HaddySnowFun.jpgCarlieTree1.jpg

8 REPLIES 8

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

You want to look at the T8i, an incremental improvement, or the 90D which would be a major jump.

Sharpness is mainly a function of lens and technique, so don't expect any improvement there.

I think kvbarkley meant to stay don't expect any improvement in sharpness due to keeping the existing lenses.  Surely any better technique can improve quality.

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

No new camera in 10 yrs.  You owe it to yourself to get the 90D.

~Rick
Bay Area - CA

~R5 C (1.0.6.1) ~RF Trinity, ~RF 100 Macro, ~RF 100~400, ~RF 100~500, +RF 1.4x TC, +Canon Control Ring, BG-R10, 430EX III-RT ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~DaVinci Resolve ~Windows11 Pro ~ImageClass MF644Cdw/MF656Cdw ~Pixel 8
~CarePaks Are Worth It

What I meant was that the body does not have a lot to do with sharpness, it is mainly lens and technique.

Also often a large jump in resolution can make folks think that their sharpness got worse, since they look at a much smaller area when looking at 100%.

Thank you for the clarification regarding sharpness. I had (obviously) wrongly assumed that improved resolution would improve sharpness, but what you say makes a lot of sense! Thank you!

TeriPSU,