cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking to upgrade from a 20D (yeah, you read that right!)

Theogeek
Apprentice

Hey all!

I'm in the market for a new(er) or used camera - my old, trustworthy 20D is starting to ask about retirement options, so I thought I'd better start looking now before he decides "today is the day".

So, I've been lurking, and reading, and investigating, and researching all over the place, but this is the forst place I've asked questions, so any input would be appreciated.

First, the preconditions:

1)  My main use cases are vacations, band concerts, cross country meets, and track meets, and the occasional indoor event.

2)  I've been using my 20D for so long, and have been SUPER impressed by the build quality and performance, that I am looking for another one similar in design with as much staying power as the 20D - I have been using it for 16 years and I have no way of knowing how many pictures I've taken with it, or what the shutter count is, but for 19 years of use, it is still in excellent overall physical condition.

3)  I entered the hobby with a very limited set of skills and a matching TWO lenses - Canon 50mm f/1.8 and the 28-135 that came with it.  That lens was lost about a month ago.  That said, my first lens purchase to go along with my new camera will be the Canon 70-200 f/2.8 IS USM (I've been wanting that forever and finally have enough saved up for it), to be followed shortly thereafter by a wider angle lens (like 18-55 or similar)

4) That being said, I don't want to break the bank, so I'm currently looking at used bodies, but am not opposed to getting a new one if the proce is right.  I'm looking at spending < $1500 on a body

Now, onto what my research has driven me to...