cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Going Back to School

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

OK... I'm retired and bored, but I know the importance of keeping one active in mind and body.  So I do exercise every day and I hike a lot, so that side is sorted.  But finding a stimulus for the brain has been a bit challenging.  Despite three degrees and a lot of expertise it's pretty much impossible to even get an interview for a job of any value (I am leaving aside flipping burgers), Smiley Frustrated and I looked at volunteering but discovered that almost universally (and probably not unreasonably) organizations want one to commit to specific hours and at specific times - not an easy thing to do as I support my terminally ill partner.

So I went back to basics and decided to do something I have never actually done in a formal way: get a qualification as a photographer.  Don't get me wrong, I was self-taught and learned from the experience of others back in the 1980's, and worked in the field for years - so I feel that I have and adequate knowledge.  Still, it nagged at me and so I went in search of a credible institution where I could study part-time and remotely, had an official accreditation for the provider and the qualification, and would not break the bank.   This was somewhat complicated by the fact I live in New Zealand.  Still, I have found a good solution in an academic institution, The Southland Institute of Technology, located at the far end of NZ from me but able to let me do remote study.  It's got a Zero Fees policy for NZ citizens and residents (subsidized by the government) - so there are no fees to study, but an enrollment fee and resource fees that come down to about $100/unit, of which one requires 8 to complete the diploma, one which is recogized by the NZ Qualifications Authority (a government agency controlling accreditation) and is well-regarded by the profession in NZ and Australia - not that I am likely to get work