cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DSLR vs. Cinema EOS

CLKeller16
Apprentice

Okay, so I am an amateur producer/photographer. I got my first DSLR abour four years ago (a used Canon EOS 7D Mark I), and initally used it for photographing still images. After a few years I moved into shooting video with it, and I absolutely love the way my videos turn out. Rechently, however, I've been noting people shooting with Canon's Cinema EOS series. Now I know nothing really about the difference in specs of different cameras (my dad has a 60D and besides physical layout, I don't see much difference), but I have to assume that the C-series of cameras would better suit me than my 7D. I am shooting mostly fast moving sports right now (football, wrestling, cheerleading...). So I guess my question to you all is this: what is the difference between my 7D and the Cinema EOS series? How hard would it be to switch from my DSLR to a camera like the C100 or C300? And would it fit my current needs for a camera?

Thanks!

Cody

20 REPLIES 20

Photography is full of choices!  Smiley Happy

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

Dynamic range is the range available between a system's noise floor and the maximum value to which it can respond in the desired manner.  We run into the same optical issue with our own vision when someone very heavily backlit is approaching us often rendering their facial features unrecognizable as our iris closes down to avoid overloading our vision system.  In audio it is the range between the minimum sound we can discern and at the extreme upper limit, the threshold of pain.  Unfortunately photography is often very demanding in terms of actual versus capturable dynamic range forcing us to choose somewhere in the lesser of two evils blend.