cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DSLR ISO & Film ISO

Monoblockhead
Apprentice

Hi, I'm new to DSLR's and was wondering if the ISO rating on DSLR Cameras is exactly the same ISO value as for film in 35mm/120?

In other words, if you were using manual mode, could you use the exposure rating chart on an old analogue flash gun and it would match up to the settings on your camera, set for the corresponding ISO?

I'm guessing the answer is that they are the same, but thought it was worth checking - many thanks

3 REPLIES 3

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

They are not is the simple answer.

Digital cameras, ISO sensitivity is a measure of the camera's ability to capture light. Almost the same as film ISO or ASA numbers. Digital cameras convert the light that falls on the image sensor into electrical signals for processing. Here is where ISO and film ISO have nothing in common.  ISO sensitivity is raised by amplifying the signal.  Doubling ISO sensitivity doubles the electrical signal, halving the amount of light that needs to fall on the camera sensor to for optimal exposure.  When ISO sensitivity is raised from ISO 100 to ISO 200 and the aperture is left unchanged, the same exposure will be achieved with a shutter speed twice as fast. 

What this really means is you are trying to compare film 'grain' to an electric signal.  You can not!  You can increase the signal to the amplifer circuits in the camera untill they are overloaded.  IE, noise or grain, if you will. It is actually no different with your stero.  If you increase the volume enough the sound will be loud but will be distorted.  Right?  Same, same. If I decrease the volume at some point you won't be able to hear it at all. It might not be distorted but you still can't hear it.  Right?  Same, same.

In digital the only thing that remained were the numbers because most film guys would be comfortable with them.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

TCampbell